the city is differently alive
despite our proud, judgemental, ungrateful apathy and indifference towards it
its soil always parts with fragrance while soaking in monsooning ecstasy
winds, raging only a while ago, now cloak you gently
very soon, thicker blankets will unfurl on beds
grasses glance, green and always curious, through pavement cracks
gulmohurs fall, scarlet speckles on damp asphalted roads
like kisses that linger on your neck long after a passionate lover’s departure
clouds scatter, for they know we need to look at the stars – our everyday miracles
raaga Kaapi wafts in from the opposite house
in my kitchen, garlic and butter turn softer together on a pan
I think of all my loved ones who love good food
thank this city that allows me all these everyday luxuries
and then I think – after all, everything we love comes out of this Earth
after all, what we all love, is our only Earth

Leave a comment